Celebrating 50 Years

WPBF is a donor-based, non-profit foundation, managed by a Board of Directors who are community volunteers. The organization is led by an executive committee consisting of officers elected by the Board from among Board members.  Recommendations made by the executive committee are subject to a vote by the Directors.  All Board members are asked to serve on at least one of the organization’s various committees – such as Adopt-a-Park, Garden & Landscape, Publicity or Gala planning.

All volunteers are welcome. White Plains residency is not a requirement. New participants are eligible to become an “associate” after attending two Board meetings, which are held September through June. Associates, who are non-voting, may be asked to move up to the voting director level after a year. Participants are not charged dues. The organization operates solely on the generous donations from individuals and businesses.


Mayor of White Plains

Honorary Chairman
Thomas M. Roach


Karen Quinn

First Vice President
Mary Ann DeRosa

Vice President
Mary Briante

Co-Recording Secretaries
Sue Jacobine Brennan
Mary Merenda*

Corresponding Secretary
Cecelia Spilotros

Cormac Daly

Assistant Treasurer
Joanna D’Addario

Adopt-A-Park Chair
Jean Bello*

Immediate Past President
Deborah Donahoe*

*Past President

Committee Chairs/Directors

Adopt-A-Park: Jean Bello*
Arbor Day: Kathleen Masterson
Business Awards: Blaine Levenson, Dorothy Schere*
Bylaws: Barbara Ramsdell*
Cable TV: Marie Silverman Marich*
Capital Projects: Blaine Levenson
Earth Day: Mary Merenda*
Front Yard Gardens: Dorothy Chervinsky
Garden & Landscape: Deborah Donahoe*
Holiday Luncheon: Hon. Pauline Oliva
Newsletter: Jean Bello*
Nominating: Blaine Levenson
Publicity: Beth Wallach*
School Grants: Dorothy Schere*
Website: Nancy Giges

Honorary Director

Brian Wallach*


Roland Barnes
Nanette Bourne
Mary Briante
Rebecca Bright
Dorothy Chervinsky
Claudia Doherty
Ann Marie Dougherty
Ann Edwards*
Suzanne Evans
Nancy Giges
Micaela Kelly Goldberger
Verdell Hilliard
Blaine Levenson
Ruth Manecke
Marie Silverman Marich*
Kathleen Masterson
Judith Meyer Morse
Hon. Pauline Oliva
Thomasina Petrone
Barbara Ramsdell*
Nancy Rice
Dorothy Schere*
Anthony Spinelli
Guy Terhune
Angela Vitellas
Beth Wallach*
Stuart Werner
Jeanne Wilcox
Peter G. Wilcox


Joanne Barish
Lucille Claroni
Dolores Curley
Renata Daly
Alfred B. Gates
Ruthmarie Hicks
Rose marie James
Mary Helen Jordan
Frances Keegan
Hon. Mary Ann Keenan
Gail Landauer
Beth Levine
Rosemary Martino
Chuck Mullin
Esther Natter
Debra Oleson
Lynn Oliva
Jaquelyn Pirri
Iwona Rainer
Jeff Rainer
Beth Roach
Ellen Stone
Charlotte Hope Szabo
Julie Trelstad
John Vrooman
Alison Walsh

Of Counsel

Lucia Chiocchio, Esq.
– Cuddy and Feder


Commissioner Richard G. Hope
– White Plains Dept. of Public Works

Commissioner Wayne Bass
– White Plains Dept. of Recreation & Parks

Gary E. Bashian, Esq.

Commissioner Jay Pisco
– Westchester County Dept. of Public Works

Deputy Commissioner Stefania Mignone
– White Plains Dept. of Public Works

Patrick Laidman, Arborist
– The Care of Trees

Fred Marshall
– Horticultural Consultant


Adopt-A-Park program (68%) $143,591
Annual gala event (24%) 51,214
General donations (8%) 16,224
Total 2016 Income  $211,029
Programs: Garden planting, care & watering, school gardens 79%) $155,137
Fundraising including gala (14%) 26,682
Communications, education & administration (7%) 13,189
Total 2016 Expenses $195,008